Marketplace comparison

Marketplace Image Requirements: Amazon, Etsy, eBay, Walmart & TikTok Shop Compared

Image rules differ by marketplace. This page compares verified requirements side by side and keeps hard requirements separate from recommendations and details that are not officially specified.

Last verified: September 22, 2026 ยท By MagicBG Team

Requirements at a glance

RuleAmazonEtsyeBayWalmartTikTok Shop
Minimum resolution

500 to 10,000 pixels on the longest side

Requirement

Not officially specified in the stored source data.

Not officially specified

500 x 500 px

Requirement

500 x 500 px; below this the item is not published

Requirement

600 x 600 px for all product images

Requirement

Recommended resolution

Larger than 1,000 px on the longest side enables zoom

Recommendation

Width and height of at least 2000 px

Recommendation

About 1600 x 1600 px

Recommendation

Not officially specified in the stored source data.

Not officially specified

Resolution above 600 x 600 px and a high-quality background, preferably white, on the first image contribute to the Good tier

Recommendation

Maximum file size

Not officially specified in the stored source data.

Not officially specified

Images over about 1 MB may fail to upload, especially on slow connections

Recommendation

12 MB per image via the photo uploader

Requirement

Not officially specified in the stored source data.

Not officially specified

Not officially specified in the stored source data.

Not officially specified

Background requirement

Pure white background

Requirement

Not required; styled photography, props, color and lifestyle context are allowed

Not officially specified

Use an uncluttered, neutral background; white is generally best, while darker backgrounds can suit shiny or reflective items such as jewelry

Recommendation

Not officially specified in the stored source data.

Not officially specified

Pure white

Requirement

Aspect ratio

Not officially specified in the stored source data.

Not officially specified

Not specified on Etsy's listing-image Help Center page

Not officially specified

1:1 or 16:9 generally look best

Recommendation

Not officially specified in the stored source data.

Not officially specified

Up to 9 square images per listing

Requirement

Image count

At least six images and one video

Recommendation

Up to 10 photos and 1 video per listing

Not officially specified

Up to 24 free photos for most categories; 12 per variation for multi-variation listings

Not officially specified

Not officially specified in the stored source data.

Not officially specified

Up to 9 square images per listing; exactly 1 must be selected as the main image

Requirement

Watermark policy

Not allowed on the main image

Requirement

Not addressed on Etsy's listing-image Help Center page

Not officially specified

Not allowed

Requirement

No watermarks, advertising language, text overlays, coupons or borders

Requirement

No added logos, text, borders, watermarks or graphics covering the product or background

Requirement

Read each marketplace guide

Amazon image requirements: Amazon sets a 500-to-10,000-pixel range on the longest side and requires pure white for the main image.

Etsy image requirements: Etsy recommends at least 2000 px in both dimensions and does not require a white background.

eBay image requirements: eBay requires at least 500 x 500 px and prohibits text, logos, borders and watermarks.

Walmart image requirements: Walmart requires at least 500 x 500 px, while several widely repeated specifications are not officially stated.

TikTok Shop image requirements: TikTok Shop requires at least 600 x 600 px and one pure-white main image showing the product from the front.

Frequently asked questions

Which marketplace has the strictest image rules?
There is no single strictest marketplace across every rule. Amazon specifies dimensions and a pure-white main image; Walmart can leave an item unpublished below 500 x 500 px and has category-dependent requirements; TikTok Shop requires at least 600 x 600 px, square images and one pure-white main image.
Do I need a white background everywhere?
No. Amazon and TikTok Shop require pure white for the main image. Etsy does not require white, eBay recommends an uncluttered neutral background and says white is generally best, and Walmart's cited guidance does not officially state the commonly reported pure-white RGB requirement.
What's the safest resolution to shoot at for all five marketplaces?
Shoot at your highest available resolution and resize down for each marketplace rather than upscaling a smaller file. Then check the stored minimum and recommended dimensions for the marketplace you are publishing to.
Which marketplace specifies the smallest file-size guidance?
Etsy says images over about 1 MB may fail to upload, especially on slow connections. eBay's current photo uploader page states 12 MB per image, while an older eBay export page states 7 MB. The stored Amazon, Walmart and TikTok Shop data does not specify a maximum file size.
Can I use watermarks on marketplace images?
Amazon prohibits watermarks on the main image. eBay prohibits text, logos, borders and watermarks; Walmart prohibits watermarks and overlays; and TikTok Shop prohibits added logos, text, borders, watermarks or covering graphics. Etsy's cited page does not address watermarks.
Do all five marketplaces specify an official aspect ratio?
No. eBay recommends 1:1 or 16:9, and TikTok Shop requires square listing images. Etsy does not specify an aspect ratio on its cited page, Walmart does not state a universal 1:1 rule, and the stored Amazon data does not specify an official ratio.

Next steps

Prepare each image for its destination, then build the rest of the listing.